THIBAUD GUITTARD

Thibaud Guittard honed his watchmaking skills in the marketing and communication departments of Audemars Piguet in Paris. He then joined the family-owned industrial group in distribution and developed a strong penchant for entrepreneurship. He is passionate about cars, design, architecture, music, cinema, art, and creativity in all its forms.

His fascination with 1970s concept cars, Christopher Nolan’s films, and contemporary art has led him to question the relationship between time and the design of an object.

Art and time are two abstract, indefinable concepts with no boundaries. Thibaud felt that he did not align well with the current offerings in watchmaking. The idea to combine art and time came to him quite naturally. Taking an empirical and entrepreneurial approach, he launched his own brand to create a watch that really suited him. The ALTO project was born of his desire to bring watchmaking closer to the creative world, to art in all its dimensions.

To bring ALTO to life, Thibaud surrounded himself with creative personalities. They guided him in defining the brand’s universe and creating the ART 01. This first piece marked the start of a boundless artistic adventure.

“Art is the best tool for talking about time”

MATHIEU CÉSAR

Mathieu César is a French writer, director and photographer. The greatest names in the worlds of art, fashion, cinema, sport, and music have passed in front of his lens. In an age saturated by colour, Mathieu has placed black and white at the heart of his work to better capture the emotions of the faces he portrays. It is through his photographs that he tells stories and captures a moment that will become timeless.

Mathieu was immediately attracted to Thibaud’s idea of combining art with the watchmaking industry. Cars, design, music, art - they both share the same inspirations and passions. It was only natural that Mathieu should take on the artistic direction of ALTO in order to give it a deep and unique creative sense. With films, photography and musical compositions, he offers a cross-disciplinary, holistic vision that goes far beyond the product itself. A creative and artistic adventure designed to show that ALTO is in tune with the times.

“Timelessness is at the heart of my work”

BARTH NUSSBAUMER

Barth Nussbaumer is an independent watch designer. A native of Neuchâtel, he quickly realized during his studies that he would make design his profession. He has been designing for the most prestigious watch and jewellery brands for over twenty years, and has also worked with independent brands, some of which he has been involved with from the very beginning.

Barth was the only one to have understood Thibaud’s disruptive vision, his desire to think differently both technically and in terms of design. The whole approach was new.

While the object was obvious to Thibaud from the outset, the project was a risk-taking exercise, from its three-dimensional modelling to its manufacture. A real technical and design challenge for Barth. The curved, bevelled and hemispherical crystal, with its sharp and angular edges; the emerald cut of the case, its finesse; the cut-aways in the dial, the aperture of the movement... the constraints are ubiquitous. Bringing the ART 01 to life required close collaboration between the Cercle des Horlogers and the designer. This piece is just a starting point, laying the foundations for ALTO.

"Technically, we pushed the limits as far as possible"

LE CERCLE DES HORLOGERS

The ART 01 is equipped with the A01, a unique self-winding mechanical movement entirely designed, developed, and produced exclusively for ALTO.

ALTO entrusted the production of its micro-rotor automatic calibre to the Cercle des Horlogers. A partner of some of the world’s leading watchmakers, the Cercle des Horlogers in La Chaux-de-Fonds perpetuates its know-how of excellence to produce watches that meet the highest standards of technicality and quality. It brings together watchmakers whose passion and expertise are expressed in every detail of the timepieces they create, making each piece a unique expression of their art.

The Cercle des Horlogers considered ALTO a true artistic challenge. Its task was to combine technical expertise with an aesthetic approach to movement design.

It was with this vision that the craftspeople of the Cercle des Horlogers designed the AA01, a calibre with a spectacular and unique architecture. Two years of work were required to meet the constraints of form and finesse imposed by the ART 01.

“We cleared all the hurdles between concept and production while retaining the initial soul of the project. ”

YORGO TLOUPAS

Yorgo Tloupas is the founder of the multidisciplinary design studio Yorgo&Co in Paris. A renowned art director, he is considered one of the best logo designers in the world. With the ambition of improving the visual landscape around us, he offers his expertise to brands from a wide variety of sectors (luxury, art, fashion, sport, media, automotive, etc.) in their search for a visual identity. He also teaches the history and design of logos at Penninghen and Sciences Po.

Involved in the Black Crows ski brand as a shareholder and artistic director, Yorgo has shaped the brand’s entire visual identity, becoming the creative pillar essential to the brand’s success since its inception.

Yorgo is at the heart of ALTO’s creative process. He chose to use the ART 01’s distinctive shape as the starting point for defining the brand’s entire visual identity. A shape which, in his view, had to be countered by a very raw and ultra-standardised graphic system, with no trace of fantasy, in order to give the watch all, the space it deserved.

"Participating in the creation of ALTO has been an exciting adventure"

THIBAUD GUITTARD

Thibaud Guittard a fait ses armes dans l’horlogerie au sein des départements marketing et communication de la maison Audemars Piguet à Paris. Il a par la suite rejoint le groupe industriel familial dans la distribution et développé une forte appétence pour l’entreprenariat. Il se passionne pour l’automobile, le design, l’architecture, la musique, le cinéma, l’art et la création sous toutes ses formes.

De sa fascination pour les concept cars des années 70, le cinéma de Christopher Nolan ou encore l’art contemporain, naît un questionnement sur le rapport au temps et l’esthétisme d’un objet.

L’art et le temps sont deux concepts abstraits, indéfinissables, sans frontières. Thibaud ne se retrouve pas dans la proposition horlogère actuelle. L’idée lui vient naturellement de mêler l’art et le temps.  Dans une démarche empirique et entrepreneuriale, il lance sa propre marque pour créer une montre qui lui correspond réellement. Le projet ALTO naît ainsi de sa volonté de rapprocher l’horlogerie du monde créatif, de l’art dans toutes ses dimensions.

Pour donner vie à ALTO, Thibaud s’entoure de personnalités créatives. Elles vont le guider dans la définition de l’univers de la marque et la réalisation de la ART 01. Une première pièce qui marque le début d’une aventure artistique sans limite.

« L’art est le meilleur outil pour parler du temps »

Mathieu César

Mathieu César est un auteur, réalisateur et photographe français. Les plus grandes personnalités du monde de l’art, de la mode, du cinéma, du sport et de la musique sont passées devant son objectif. Dans une époque saturée par la couleur, Mathieu a placé le noir et blanc au cœur de son travail pour mieux rendre compte des émotions des visages qu’il met en scène. C’est à travers ses photographies qu’il raconte des histoires et capture un instant qui deviendra hors du temps.

Mathieu a été immédiatement séduit par l’idée de Thibaud de mêler l’art à l’industrie horlogère. Automobile, design, musique, art, tous deux se retrouvent dans des inspirations et des passions communes. C’est naturellement que Mathieu prend la direction artistique d’ALTO afin de lui donner un sens créatif profond et unique. Films, photographies, compositions musicales, il propose une vision transversale et holistique qui va bien au-delà du produit. Une aventure créative et artistique destinée à inscrire ALTO dans son époque.

« L'intemporalité est au coeur de mon travail »

Barth Nussbaumer

Barth Nussbaumer est designer horloger indépendant. Natif de Neuchâtel, il comprend vite au cours de ses études qu’il va faire de la création son métier. Il dessine depuis plus de vingt ans pour les marques horlogères et joaillières les plus prestigieuses, et s’est également illustré aux côtés de marques indépendantes dont il a pour certaines été présent dès la genèse.

Barth est le seul à avoir compris la vision disruptive de Thibaud, son envie de réfléchir autrement aussi bien techniquement qu’esthétiquement. L’approche est nouvelle dans son ensemble.

Si l’objet s’impose aux yeux de Thibaud comme une évidence dès le départ, le projet est une prise de risque de sa modélisation en trois dimensions à sa fabrication. Un véritable défi technique et esthétique pour Barth. La glace bombée, biseautée et hémisphérique, ses angles vifs et acérés ; la forme émeraude de la boîte, sa finesse ; les découpes du cadran, l’ouverture du mouvement… les contraintes sont partout. Donner vie à la ART 01 a nécessité une forte collaboration entre le Cercle des Horlogers et le designer. Cette pièce n’est qu’un point de départ, elle pose les bases d’ALTO.

« Au niveau technique, nous sommes allés au maximum du possible »

Cercle des horlogers

La ART 01 est équipée du A01, un mouvement mécanique à remontage automatique unique, entièrement dessiné, développé et réalisé exclusivement pour ALTO.

ALTO a choisi de confier la réalisation de son calibre automatique micro-rotor au Cercle des Horlogers. Partenaire des plus grandes maisons, cette manufacture de la Chaux-de-fonds perpétue un savoir-faire d’excellence afin de fabriquer des montres qui répondent aux plus hauts standards de technicité et de qualité. Elle rassemble des horlogers dont la passion et l’expertise s’exprime jusque dans les moindres détails des garde-temps qu’ils réalisent, faisant de chaque pièce une expression unique de leur art.

Le Cercle des Horlogers a considéré ALTO comme un véritable défi artistique. Sa mission a été d’allier la technique à l’approche esthétique dans la conception du mouvement.

C’est dans cette vision que les artisans du Cercle des Horlogers ont conçu le A01, un calibre à l’architecture spectaculaire et unique. Deux ans de travail ont été nécessaires pour répondre aux contraintes de forme et de finesse imposées par la ART 01.

« Nous avons franchi tous les obstacles entre le concept et la production tout en gardant l'âme initiale du projet. »

Yorgo Tloupas

Yorgo Tloupas est le fondateur du studio de design multidisciplinaire Yorgo&Co à Paris. Directeur artistique de renom, il est considéré comme l’un des meilleurs designers de logo dans le monde. Avec pour ambition d’améliorer le paysage visuel qui nous entoure, il offre son expertise à des marques aux univers très variés (luxe, art, mode, sport, média, automobile…) dans leur recherche d’identité visuelle. Il enseigne également l’histoire et le design du logotype à Penninghen et SciencesPo notamment.

Impliqué dans la marque de ski Black Crows en tant qu’actionnaire et directeur artistique, Yorgo a façonné toute l’identité visuelle de celle-ci, devenant ainsi le pilier créatif essentiel au succès de la marque depuis sa création.

Yorgo est au coeur du dispositif créatif d’ALTO. C’est en partant de la forme particulière de la ART 01 qu’il a choisi de définir toute l’identité visuelle de la marque. Une forme qui, selon lui, se devait d’être contrecarrée par un système graphique très brut et ultra normé, sans aucune fantaisie, afin de laisser à la montre toute la place qu’elle mérite.

« Participer à la création d'ALTO a été une aventure passionnante »