BIRTH
OF THE
BRAND

You have to go back to childhood to understand what motivated Thibaud Guittard for this project. With drawing as his favourite means of expression, his fascination with the shape and design of objects stimulated his imagination. Later, after studying business and marketing, it was his love of beautiful products that led him to his first job at Audemars Piguet, as marketing manager for the French market.

The influence of industrial design visionaries such as Giorgetto Giugiaro and Luca Bassani, combined with a fascination for the aspirational works of Olafur Eliasson, the musical universe of Daft Punk, and the cinema of Christopher Nolan, led to the maturing of an intuition, and then a certainty. Art in all its forms offers a unique perspective on time. Artists and their works wield significant influence over our perception of it.

Driven by deep-rooted passions for technology, industrial design and all forms of art, the first watch he envisioned was actually for himself.

“I was looking for a watch that was a complete departure in style, with a strong emotional appeal. With both a high-performance, fine-watchmaking movement, absolute comfort when worn, and a totally radical design.” 

Fruit of his myriad aspirations, Thibaud gathered his ideas, mood boards, and sketches over months. Taut, elusive lines were born on paper, while a clear brand universe came to life.

For two years, no designer or watchmaker could rise to the challenge of making these first sketches viable. “My ideas were too extreme. I went from failure to failure trying to bring this model to life. Then one day, with my back against the wall, someone whispered to me: if there’s anyone who can pull it off, it’s Barth”. This decisive encounter with watch designer Barth Nussbaumer led to a friendship and the birth of ART 01.

“Such a radical design requires many hours of technical work. ART01 is an insanely complex project. ” Barth

VISION AND CONCEPT

An artistic experience created on the wrist.

ALTO delves into the universal theme of time through art in all its forms, offering a unique and singular perspective. ART01 is more than an accessory; it’s a symbol embodying the artistic expression of time.

ALTO is a creative journey through time. An ambitious project to merge art and watchmaking.

ALTO brings together artists from a wide range of backgrounds to explore the theme of time through different projects.

naissance
de la
marque

Il faut remonter à l’enfance pour comprendre ce qui a motivé Thibaud Guittard pour ce projet. Avec le dessin comme moyen d’expression favori, la fascination pour la forme et l’esthétique des objets stimulera son imaginaire. Plus tard, après des études de commerce et marketing, c’est l’amour du beau produit qui le guidera vers une première expérience chez Audemars Piguet, comme responsable marketing du marché français.

L’influence de visionnaires du design industriel comme Giorgetto Giugiaro ou Luca Bassani, mêlée à la fascination pour les œuvres aspirationnelles d’Olafur Eliasson, l’univers musical des Daft Punk, et le cinéma de Christopher Nolan, feront mûrir une intuition, puis une évidence. L’art sous toutes ses formes porte un regard unique sur le temps. Les artistes et leurs œuvres ont une influence majeure sur notre rapport à ce dernier.

Poussé par des passions profondément ancrées pour la technique, le design industriel et toutes les formes d’art, la première montre qu’il imagine était en fait pour lui-même.

« Je cherchais une montre en rupture totale de style, avec une attraction émotionnelle forte. Avec à la fois un mouvement de haute horlogerie ultraperformant, un confort absolu au porté, et un design totalement radical.» 

Fruit de ses multiples aspirations, Thibaud rassemble ses idées, moodboard et dessins au fil des mois. Des lignes tendus et fuyantes naissent sur papier, pendant qu’un univers de marque clair voit le jour.

Pendant deux ans, aucun designer ni concepteur horloger ne réussit à relever le défi de rendre ces premiers croquis viable. « Mes idées étaient trop extrêmes. Je naviguais d’échec en échec pour donner vie à ce modèle. Puis un jour, au pied du mur, quelqu’un me souffle : s’il n’y en a qu’un qui peut y arriver, c’est Barth ». De cette rencontre décisive avec le designer horloger Barth Nussbaumer naitra une amitié et la naissance de la ART 01.

« Un design d’une telle radicalité demande beaucoup d’heures de travail sur le plan technique. ART01 est un projet d’une complexité folle. » Barth

Vision et concept

Une expérience artistique qui se crée au poignet.

ALTO explore le thème universel du temps à travers l’art sous toutes ses formes et lui offre ainsi une perspective unique et singulière. La ART01 est bien plus qu’un accessoire, elle est un symbole sur lequel repose l’expression artistique du temps.

ALTO est un voyage créatif dans le temps. Un projet ambitieux visant à fusionner l’art et l’horlogerie.

ALTO rassemble des artistes d’horizons multiples pour explorer la thématique du temps à travers dfférents projets.